The Federal Polytechnic Offa

Contact us

Fastest growing Polytechnic in Nigeria and Sub-Sahara Africa.


The appointment of Engr. (Mrs.) Taiwo Adeife Osemeikhian, as the pioneer Rector commenced both administrative and academic activities in the Polytechnic in February, 1992. Engr. Adeife served from 1992 till year 2000, under the supervision of a Federal Task Force led by the then Director of Science and Technology, Federal Ministry of Education. The Task Force was responsible for taking major policy decisions affecting the Polytechnic and performing the functions of the Governing Council. In year 2000, She handed over to Dr. Razaq Bello from whom Dr. Mufutau Olatunde Olatinwo, took over to pilot the affairs of the Polytechnic as Ag. Rector and later as the third substantive Rector of the Polytechnic in 2008. The incumbent Rector, Dr. Lateef Ademola Olatunji, was appointed the 4th substantive Rector in December, 2016.

The first Governing Council of the Polytechnic led by late Hon. Adesola Oyeladun Oyemade was inaugurated alongside councils of other Tertiary institutions in year 2000. The second Governing Council, headed by Mr. Dogara Igube, came on board in 2005 while the third Governing Council headed by late Senator (Engr.) Onyeka Okoroafor, was constituted in 2009. The fourth Governing Council, led by Chief Okey Ezenwa, was inaugurated in 2013 while the fifth Governing Council under the leadership of Chief Oseloka Zikora was inaugurated along with other Federal Polytechnics in 2017.  

The first batches of three hundred and sixty (360) students were admitted into the six programmes viz;

  1. Financial Studies
  2. Business Studies
  • Secretarial Studies
  1. Science Laboratory Technology
  2. Electrical/Electronic Engineering
  3. Computer Science.

From this humble beginning, the Polytechnic has developed to its present enviable status with 21 courses offered at National Diploma (ND) level, 23 at Higher National Diploma (HND) level and Pre-ND programmes in Arts and Science. The institution is proud of over 14,812 students in its care.


The Polytechnic Mini Campus is located at the southern end of the town along Offa-Osogbo Way, while the Main Campus is located along Offa-Ojoku Road, Offa. 


Organizational Structure:

  1. President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria - Visitor to the Polytechnic
  2. Governing Council
  3. Academic Board

Governing Council Members:

  1. Chairman
  2. Member (Rector)
  3. Other members
  4. Secretary (Registrar)

Academic Board Members:

  1. Rector (Chairman)
  2. Deputy Rector, Administration
  3. Deputy Rector, Academics
  4. Registrar (Secretary)
  5. Polytechnic Librarian
  6. All Heads of Department
  7. All Chief Lecturers (Co-opted members)
  8. Representative of Academic Staff
  9. Coordinator, Pre-National Diploma

              (Pre-ND) Science

  1. Coordinator, Pre-National Diploma

              (Pre-ND) Arts

 Management Advisory Council:

  1. Rector (Chairman)
  2. Deputy Rector (Administration)
  3. Deputy Rector (Academics)
  4. Registrar
  5. Librarian
  6. Bursar
  7. All Deans
  8. All Directors

Principal Officers:

The Principal Officers of the Polytechnic are the following:

  1. Rector
  2. Deputy Rector (Administration)
  3. Deputy Rector (Academics)
  4. Registrar
  5. Librarian
  6. Bursar

Departments and courses offered in the Polytechnic:

  1. School of Applied Science and Technology

          ND:   Computer Science; Food Technology; Science Laboratory Technology (SLT); Statistics

          HND: Computer Science; Food Technology; Statistics; Science Laboratory Technology with options in    

  1. Biochemistry ii. Microbiology

                     iii. Physics with Electronics

  1. School of Business and Management Studies

          ND: Accountancy; Banking and Finance;  

                  Business Administration; Insurance

          HND: Accountancy; Banking and Finance; Business Administration; Insurance; Marketing.    

  1. School of Communication and Information Technology

ND:   Library and Information Science; Office Technology and Management; Mass Communication

HND: Library and Information Science; Office Technology and Management; Mass Communication

  1. School of Engineering Technology

ND:   Computer Engineering; Civil Engineering; Electrical/Electronic Engineering; Mechanical Engineering

HND: Computer Engineering; Civil Engineering; Electrical/Electronic Engineering (with options in I. Electronics and Telecommunication ii. Power and Machine); Mechanical Engineering (with options in I. Power and Plant   ii. Manufacturing).

  1. School of Environmental Studies

ND:   Architecture; Building Technology; Estate Management and Valuation; Geo-informatics; Urban and Regional Planning; Quantity Surveying

HND: Architecture; Building Technology; Quantity Surveying

  1. School of General Studies


Rectors till Date:

  1. Engr. (Dr.) Taiwo Adeife-Osemeikhan (1992-2000)
  2. Dr. Razaq Bello (2000-2006)
  3. Mr. Olatunde Durotimi (Ag. Rector: April July, 2006)
  4. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo

    (Ag. Rector: July 2006 - March 2008)

  1. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo (March 2008 February 2016)
  2. Dr. (Mrs.) Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan

    (Ag. Rector: February 2016 January 2017)

  1. Dr. Lateef Ademola Olatunji (January, 2017 till date)




  • 1
  • 2


“To be a leading world class Polytechnic within the shortest period of time”


“Our vision is to train skillful knowledgeable, industrious and technological manpower needed for sustainable national development”


Federal Polytechnic Offa a unique citadel of learning, The Peacock in harmonious...
Read more

Contact us