Our History

The Federal Polytechnic, Offa came into existence in 1992. A presidential pronouncement of its establishment was made at the Palace of His Royal Highness, Olofa of Offa, late Oba Mustapha Olawoore Olanipekun Ariwajoye II, by the then Military President, Ibrahim Babangida during a state visit in 1991.
Consequently, a Local Task Force was then constituted by His Royal Highness, the Olofa, under the Chairman Alhaji Tiamiyu Olatinwo with six other eminent indigenes of Offa and Chief Ayotunde Raji as Secretary.
The pioneer Rector of the Polytechnic, Engr. (Mrs.) Taiwo Adeife Osemeikhian, administered the Polytechnic from February 1992 to year 2000, under the supervision of a Federal Task Force led by the Director of Science and Technology, Federal Ministry of Education. The Task Force was responsible for taking major policy decisions affecting the Polytechnic and performing the functions of the Governing Council. She handed over to Dr. Razaq Bello who was Rector between 2000 and 2006. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo, took over the affairs of the Polytechnic in 2006 as Ag. Rector and later as the third substantive Rector since 2008.
The first Governing Council of the Polytechnic was put in place in year 2000, the second in 2005 the third in 2009 while the fourth and current council under the chairmanship of Chief Okey Ezenwa was inaugurated in April 2013.

The Main Campus of the Polytechnic is located about 6.5 kilometres from Offa town centre on the Offa – Ojoku Road while the Mini Campus is located at the southern end of Offa town along Offa Oshogbo Road.

   1. Visitor to the Polytechnic - Hon. Minister of Education
   2. Governing Council under the Chairmanship of Hon. Chief Okey Ezenwa
   3. Academic Board
   4. Management Advisory Committee

   1. Hon. Chief Okey Ezenwa             (Chairman)
   2. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo                  (Member)
   3. Hon. Adamu Gora Kalba              (Member)
   4. Hon. Halilu Tanko Gilma              (Member)
   5. Chief Uka Ude Egwu                   (Member)
   6. Mr Muhammed Ibrahim Adejoh    (Member)
   7. Mrs Janet Otobo                         (Member)
   8. Mr. L. S. Ajibade,                      (Rep. Academic Board Member)
   9. Alh. AbdulHamid Raji                 (Registrar and Secretary)

   1. Rector
   2. Deputy Rector, Administration
   3. Deputy Rector, Academics
   4. Registrar (Secretary)
   5. Librarian
   6. All Deans (Co-opted)
   7. All Heads of Academic Department
   8. Coordinator, Pre-National Diploma (Pre-ND) Science (Co-opted)
   9. Coordinator, Pre-National Diploma (Pre-ND) Arts (Co-opted)
   10. All Chief Lecturers (Co-opted)
   11. Representative of the Polytechnic Academic Staff
   12. Deputy Registrar, Academics (Secretariat)

   1. Rector
   2. Deputy Rector (Administration)
   3. Deputy Rector (Academics)
   4. Registrar
   5. Bursar
   6. Librarian
   7. All Deans
   8. All Directors
   9. Deputy Registrar, SS Estab, (Secretariat))

The Principal Officers of the Polytechnic are the following:
   1. Rector
   2. Deputy Rector (Administration)
   3. Deputy Rector (Academics)
   4. Registrar
   5. Bursar
   6. Librarian

The first batch of three hundred and sixty (360) students was admitted into the initial six programmes viz;
   1. Financial Studies
   2. Business Studies
   3. Secretarial Studies
   4. Science Laboratory Technology
   5. Electrical/Electronic Engineering; and
   6. Computer Science
From this humble beginning, the Polytechnic has developed to its present state with 25 programmes offered at National Diploma (ND) level, 18 at Higher National Diploma (HND) level as well as Pre-ND programmes in Arts and Science. The institution is proud of over 15,000 students in its care.

   1. Engr. (Dr.) Taiwo Adeife-Osemeikhan (1992 – 2000)
   2. Dr. Razaq Bello (2000 – 2006)
   3. Mr. Olatunde Durotimi (Ag. Rector: April – July, 2006)
   4. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo (Ag. Rector: July 2006 – March 2008)
   5. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo (March 2008 – February 2012)
   6. Dr. Mufutau Olatinwo (March 2012 – till date)

It is on record that since inception, Management of the Polytechnic has not hidden her desire for success and place the institution at the zenith of academic excellence. The Polytechnic recorded great feats in many areas including the following:
   1. Research work on sweet potato for bread and other confectioneries. This on-going research has
       attracted the attention of world’s greatest philanthropist – Mr Bill Gates, whose Poverty Eradication
       Foundation team has visited the Polytechnic for the use of the research to alleviate poverty in Africa;

   2. Fabrication of various useful engineering tools/equipment and computer accessories by staff and
       students of the Polytechnic School of Engineering Technology;

   3. Research and discovery of new technology to prepare various Nigerian foods e.g. Fufu as against the
       conventional method believed to be less hygienic by staff and students of Food Technology Department.

   4. Partnership with foreign governments as well as national and international institutions for training and
       retraining of staff through. An example is the partnership with China through her embassy in Nigeria
       and the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom, to train and retrain staff of the Polytechnic. Some
     staff have concluded their studies under these arrangements while others are going-on with their studies.

   5. Graduates of the Polytechnic had won national awards for meritorious service to the nation under the
       National Youth service Corps (NYSC) programme

   6. The Polytechnic Contingent were the champions at the 2009 edition of the Nigeria Polytechnics Games
       (NIPOGA) held in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State.

   7. The staff development programme of the Management has resulted in many staff acquiring Doctorate
       Degrees with many still on the course.

   8. Polytechnic Central Library is fully computerised and linked with Virtual Library.
   9. Polytechnic is ICT Compliant with most of its operations including admission, registration etc now done

   10. Polytechnic Permanent Site is a story in elegance plus prudence. Modern structures now dot the Main
        Campus with the seat of administration permanently moving there.

   11. Peace on Campus after many years of bickering and mutual suspicion.